How does a Driver get access to a car if they are not the “Primary Assigned Driver”?

October 1, 2026 Jan

Solution: We create “Pool Cars”.

If you (the Admin or Fleet Team Manager) go to the Car Settings and set the Driver to “– No Driver –“, it becomes a “Pool Car” (a shared firm car). So that all drivers in the company can see Pool Cars on their dashboard!

How this works for your Firm:
  1. Assigned Car: Assign “Driver A” in the car settings. Only Driver A sees the car. 

  2. Shared Firm Car (Pool car): Set the assigned driver to “– No Driver –“. Now all your drivers will see this car on their dashboard. When they click “Add Trip”, it securely logs their exact driver ID. On the other hand, a driver can only edit their own refuelling records and trips. They can see the refuelling records and trips of other drivers, but these are locked. If a driver attempts to insert a refueling entry between entries made by other drivers or between older entries, the application will not allow it. The security system will notify them: “Odometer mismatch! You cannot log fuel at 2000.0 because the car is already at 4,996.”

A driver can edit their last trip only until a new trip is created. Once another driver creates a new trip, the previous trip—initiated by previous driver—can no longer be modified. The previous driver will see “Access Denied. This trip is locked because newer logs exist. Contact your Fleet Manager to edit.”

The Result: As a Fleet Manager, when you look at the Logbook for that shared car, you will see a beautiful timeline of exactly who drove it, and when. As an Fleet Manager, you can edit every single refuelling or trip.

How do you assign a vehicle to a different driver for a business trip?

If another driver needs to use a vehicle that has already been assigned to someone else, you do not need to reassign the vehicle itself; instead, as the manager, you simply plan (create) a new trip—or trips—and select the “new driver” from the driver list. The vehicle is not formally assigned to the new driver, but it will appear in their vehicle list. Once the trip is completed, the driver has a 24-hour window to add details or edit the trip record. After the final scheduled trip and the expiration of that time window, the vehicle disappears from the driver’s dashboard, and any subsequent changes must be made by the manager or administrator.

As a manager, you can see all the vehicles the driver has operated on the driver’s card, including the distance driven for each vehicle.

Vehicle driven in FuelaFleet
Driver Card – Vehicles driven by the driver in FuelaFleet